Your Chakras and Their Colors (4/5): Understanding the Character of Each Chakra

Nov 05, 2013
Understanding the relationship between your Chakras and their colors can help you in your meditation.

Understanding the relationship between your Chakras and their colors can help you in your meditation.


This is part 4 of a 5 part series:

Meet Your Chakras (1/5): An Introduction to Your Chakra System

Balance Your Chakras (2/5): An Introduction to Your Chakras’ Health

Your Chakras’ Health (3/5): How to Identify the Health of Your Chakras

Chakra Crystals and Stones (5/5): A Beginner’s Guide to Cleansing and Balancing


Have you ever seen a rainbow? One of the world’s most alluring and beautiful phenomenon’s, they have inspired poets, writers, and artists for centuries. There’s something truly mysterious about a rainbow. They appear totally out of nowhere and always strike a chord deep down.

The seven colors of the rainbow are in fact mirrored by our own seven Chakras.

Chakras are the energy centers of our body. They work in harmony together, ensuring we remain healthy, grounded, and content. Much like a rainbow arches across the sky; our Chakras encompass our entire body. To understand each color, we need to look at each Chakra individually.


Root Chakra

Root Chakra is the base of the entire Chakra System. It is located at the base of the spine. Its color is Red. Striking and powerful, it is the densest color of them all. It resonates with the vitality that is life. Clearly visible, it anchors the other six much like the roots of a tree anchor it to the earth. Like the roots of a tree, the Root Chakra gives us a sense of self-awareness and understanding of our place in the world.


Sacral Chakra

Sacral Chakra is located around the area below the navel. Its color is orange. The Sacral Chakra is linked to our sexual organs and reproductive system. Its orange color symbolizes the heat of sexuality and emotions. A healthy Sacral Chakra will encourage smooth and powerful movement and flow in your life.


Solar Plexus Chakra

Solar Plexus Chakra is situated in the upper stomach area. Its yellow color symbolizes the strength of will and personal empowerment. A healthy Solar Plexus Chakra will encourage your self-esteem.


Heart Chakra

Heart Chakra is the fourth energy center. Centered around our chest, its pulsing green color represents the balance and tranquility of our lives. Often, people who have been through a major personal loss with experience imbalance here. It is the symbol of the wholeness in our lives. A healthy Heart Chakra will help you to accept yourself and others.


Throat Chakra

Throat Chakra is a deep blue and is situated in the neck and throat region. The blue is the color of self-expression. It is directly related to our creativity and our ability to communicate.


Third Eye Chakra

Third Eye Chakra is associated with intuition and truth. Situated around the brow, its indigo color is representative of our own intuition. It connects us to our unconscious self and allows us to experience the universe with clarity. Indigo, like the color of the sky between the edges of earth and space, represents an almost “otherworldly” space and is the connection with our own “higher” viewpoint.


Crown Chakra

Crown Chakra is at the tip-top of our head. The storage and expression of the energy here influences our awareness and understanding of the divine.  On earth, it influences our spiritual connection, understanding, and intelligence. The Crown Chakra is end of the journey before the return back down to the Root Chakra.


In Summary

The seven Chakras and their colors, like a rainbow, are parts of a whole. Each one is reliant on the others to function. Having an understanding of each Chakra and its color, will give you some insight into the character and purpose of them.

Give your attention to these colors in your daily life. They’ll help you tune into your Chakra System. By giving your Chakras your attention, you enrich them with aliveness and flow.


Leave a comment below and share with us your experiences with some of these colors.




  1. Mintoo Hazarika says:

    My experiences till this time is that by concentrating in chakras one can get the ultimate benefit, there is no any better remady one have in this world for all type of challenges a person can face from health to wealth in this world.

    • LogitheYogi says:

      I’m very excited with your confidence and enthusiasm Mintoo. I couldn’t agree with you more. Is chakra work new to you, or have you been practicing for some time?

  2. Perry Roberts says:

    So what colour is our crown chakra pls.

    • AllTooSimple says:

      The color of each Chakra is listed in the article. Perhaps you are asking about “Aura” (just a guess)?

Speak Your Mind